Retooling for Scala

As an undergraduate at Melbourne Uni in the mid 90s, we mainly used C with vi on slow, ugly unix terminals. I thought it sucked.  When Java appeared on my radar in 96 I was in 3rd year, and I immediately jumped ship to get onto a higher-level, OO language. 12 years later, and I’d call myself a “native speaker” – Im familiar with almost every corner (and almost every shortcoming) of the language.

Anyway, Java’s weaknesses are well documented elsewhere, so I wont bore you. Ive been searching for the exit for some years, and have finally found my ticket into the next generation, something to get excited and inspired by, something worth comprehensively rewiring my brain for, something to love. Its Scala.

If at first you dont succeed…

I only got into Scala on my second attempt, and even then, the realisation of how good a programing language it is came only slowly. Now it rushes like a torrent in my head, opening new vistas and resetting expectations about how easy programming should be.

The first time, a year ago, its weird swiss-academic accent put me off; eg the name: type syntax, underscore wildcards._, Bottom Types, and the inability of the Eclipse plugin to auto-import like Java does. “Not for me”, I thought, “too strange and theoretical!”

So I followed Groovy, JRuby, C# and Boo instead. But none of them were right for me. C# and Boo dont run on the JVM. And the weak type systems in Groovy and JRuby is something I cannot comfortably swallow, because deep down I’m convinced types represent a fundamental programming truth, and thus should be modelled by the language.

…try, and try again

So I came back and made a second attempt at Scala. I bought Programming in Scala (which is a great beginner book) and I listened to an inspiring talk by Scala creator Martin Odersky. And gradually, I was able to see beyond the strange accent and appreciate that Scala delivers a cutting-edge, ultra-high-level, performant language thats widely usable in the real world, because its so thouroughly compatible with Java and the JVM.

If you’re considering Scala, realize its a very deep, very intelligently designed language. Like me, you might not grok it without considerable effort… but once you do, the rewards are worth it.

2 Comments

  1. June 2, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    […] awakening started when I began searching for a better Java, and found Scala. Scala had these weird (in my ignorance) functional features and learned Scala people often talked […]

  2. January 20, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    I was wondering if you ever considered changing the page layout
    of your blog? Its very well written; I love what
    youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content
    so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text
    for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?


Leave a Reply

